A Sea Symphony by Ralph Vaughan Williams


May 05 2024


2:30 pm

Auburn Symphony Presents:

“Behold, the Sea!” With these words, Ralph Vaughan Williams’ massive Sea Symphony begins. This piece, nearly an hour in length, was Vaughan Williams’ first major work and it was inspired by the poetry of Walt Whitman. Using over 107 lines of text from the poet’s Leaves of Grass, Vaughan Williams’ choral-orchestral work explores the sea itself as well as the sea of time, humankind and our infinite world. Auburn Symphony Orchestra is delighted to present this work in collaboration with Seattle Pro Musica and their conductor, Karen P. Thomas.


Conductor Wesley Schulz
Conductor Karen P. Thomas
Seattle Pro Musica
Susan Payne O’Brien, soprano
Damien Geter, baritone


JAAKKO MÄNTYJÄRVI – Canticum Calamitatis MaritimaeETHYL SMYTH – The Boatswain’s Mate Overture

RALPH VAUGHAN WILLIAMS – Symphony No. 1 (A Sea Symphony)

Our Patron’s Box Office is now open for in-person ticket sales with limited hours as follows

Box Office Hours:

On event days our Box Office will open 90 minutes prior to the posted event start time.

Masks Optional:  While masks are not required here, please respect those who choose to wear one.